Home > FAMILIES > STUDENT BOOKS > Year 2 - Early Church & Early Medieval > Complete List of Volume 2 Books >

Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe
Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe

Beginner/Grammar/Logic Levels Literature
Price: $9.99

Description More Information

Four adventurous siblings--Peter, Susan, Edmund, and Lucy Pevensie-- step through a wardrobe door and into the land of Narnia, a land frozen in eternal winter and enslaved by the power of the White Witch. But when almost all hope is lost, the return of the Great Lion, Aslan, signals a great change . . . and a great sacrifice.

The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe is the second book in C. S. Lewis's classic fantasy series, which has been drawing readers of all ages into a magical land with unforgettable characters for over sixty years. This is a stand-alone read, but if you would like to explore more of the Narnian realm, pick up The Horse and His Boy, the third book in The Chronicles of Narn

Although they aren't meant to be literal interpretations of the events of Salvation History, C.S. Lewis did give an outline of the main themes of each book:

"The Magician's Nephew tells the Creation and how evil entered Narnia, The Lion etc. - the Crucifixion and Resurrection, Prince Caspian - restoration of the true religion after a corruption, The Horse and His Boy - the calling and conversion of the heathen, The Voyage of the Dawn Treader - the spiritual life (especially in Reepicheep), The Silver Chair - the continuing war against the powers of darkness, The Last Battle - the coming of Antichrist (the ape). The end of the world and the last judgement."

Allegories such as these can help us to see and understand eternal truths in new ways.

Two books in this seven book series are part of Connecting with History. We highly recommend that if your family enjoys them to continue reading the rest of the books for your enjoyment.

Share your knowledge of this product. Be the first to write a review »